sharing the real me

I began blogging several months ago with a lot of passion for using this medium for sharing life with others. However, after several months – I realized that I was just writing things that I thought would encourage others and was not really sharing me.

So, my goal from here on is to share the depths of my heart. By nature/temperament, I very much live in the moment and often do not look at the realities of my own heart. I find it very easy to live on the surface and often use that ability to keep from really dealing with life. It is a strategy that has served me well in keeping me from pain, but has kept me from life – the life of knowing and being known – a life of love and surrender. I know that part of God’s design in calling us to live in community is to force us to slow down enough to share our lives. As a result, we become who God designed us to be – even more fully.

My first heart reality – is to share that as a pastor I often feel that I need to keep the real me hidden. Over the last year, I have become more and more convinced that what characterizes a follower of Christ more than anything else is community – sharing life. At the same time, I’ve realized that I don’t know how to do that. I know the theology – I know the theory – I know how to talk the game, but I don’t know how to share me. Am I afraid? Yes. Am I tired of not sharing the real me? Yes. I had a friend about a month ago share that he felt I didn’t let people get to know the real me … after much struggle and debate, I have to say that I agree.

So, here we go – that’s where I begin … this blog will now be less about periphery and more about the center, less about the surface and more about the depths.

~ by Ted Wueste on December 1, 2007.

One Response to “sharing the real me”

  1. I look forward to getting to know you . . .

Leave a Reply

 
