becoming an adult?

While most of the time, I feel like I am very much trying to learn how to be an adult (meaning: responsible, selfless, organized, patient, considerate, and/or generally calm in the midst of the storms of life) – there are moments when you see that you are indeed learning. Over the past weekend, my incredible wife traveled to see her sister in North Carolina graduate with a Master of Accountancy (yeah – that side of the family has some major skills in being organized and everything fitting nicely on one side of the ledger or the other – my side of the family only gets by on our charm and good looks, ha ha ha).

So, I was with the kids all weekend. Not that I haven’t done this before, but weekends are tough. Because the weekend is part of my work week as a pastor, I had to juggle taking care of and entertaining my 5 and 7 year old & get a sermon ready and other “stuff” that pastors do (all of which will remain under attorney/client privilege at this time). It was indeed the perfect scenario for a nice storm … so, I prayed … a lot. I found myself praying about everything – Father, please help me to love the kids – Father, please help me work on the sermon as I wash dishes and make beds and get clothes out and make breakfast and drive to karate practice.

It was amazing … this whole “prayer thing!” I had an incredible weekend – I enjoyed the kids and got everything accomplished & loved it. I realized two things:

1. Prayer is not a luxury or a task, but the very center of enjoying and delighting in what God has put before me.

2. My continued growth as an “adult” (which I am increasingly seeing as acting like Jesus) is dependent upon the kind of prayer that happens moment by moment in addition to set aside times of prayer.

~ by Ted Wueste on December 17, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
