new year’s resolution?

happy-new-year-fireworks.jpgIn many ways, I don’t like the idea of New Year’s resolutions. Not that I’m against the desire to make changes, but New Year’s seems so arbitrary. It’s just another day and the reality is that every day is a new day … I think of what Jeremiah wrote in Lamentations as he watched Jerusalem being destroyed, “the steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, his mercies never come to an end, they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.” Note the words “never ceases” and “every morning.” It also seems like “promises” are made, then forgotten and the whole idea of life change is left to one season during the year. Resolutions should be the heart of a Christ follower all year long.

However, this morning, early – 3:08 – to be exact … I woke up. I thought I heard some voices outside – maybe some kids still out from ringing in the new year. So, I got up and went to the windows on each corner of the house – things were silent. So, I went to my study and prayed – “Father, did you wake me up?” Not that I wanted to be so presumptuous or arrogant as to think that He was “speaking” to me, but I wanted to be responsive to what He might be doing in me – how He might use my early morning wake up. So, I prayed, and what began to come to my mind/my heart/my soul was a phrase: “a man after God’s own heart.” Knowing that the way God generally “speaks” is by bringing His revealed word to one’s mind, I began to listen. I opened my Bible and began to study this phrase. Acts 13:22 says, “I have found in David the son of Jesse a man after my heart, who will do all my will.” I realized that as a pastor – I often function as a professional Christian – someone who is “paid” to be good – “paid” to know all about God – someone who tries to the right things because it is what one is supposed to do. While I fight that constantly, I felt the Father saying through Acts 13:22, “I don’t want you to know about Me, I want you to know My heart.” So, that is my New Year’s resolution … that is where I stand today. I want to know Him and passionately pursue knowing His heart like never before – that I might “do all His will (heart).”

Quite often, my personality is to be a contrarian – simply because I want to do things contrary to the masses. As a kid living in the heart of Dallas Cowboy country in the late 70’s, I asked for a Pittsburg Steelers (Dallas’ arch enemy) jacket for Christmas because I didn’t want to “root” for the team that everyone loved. I have a feeling that my gracious Father playfully thought – “you don’t like New Year’s resolutions! Well, here you go.” So, here we go … “a man after God’s own heart.” That is my prayer – my resolution – my desire as I move into a new year. Thank you, Father, for speaking to my heart in spite of my contrarian ways.

~ by Ted Wueste on January 1, 2008.

2 Responses to “new year’s resolution?”

  1. At the risk of sounding corny, this is a beautiful post. Beautiful in a Grand Canyon, Arora Borealis, God’s buying back every single thing kind of beauty.

    I look forward to your future.

    David

  2. That is an incredible perspective. I pray that is my “resolution” as well….very interesting…

    -B

Leave a Reply

 
