The Mockingbird

Wednesday morning, my son and I were sitting in my study and I was reading my Bible/reflecting. He went and got his Bible from his room and came back with a pen and began reading from Proverbs – underlining verses – trying to make sense of the text. He came to Proverbs 13:1 and asked me what a “mocker” was … and rather than telling him, I asked him if he knew what it meant to “mock” … he paused, thought, and said – “oh, yeah – like a mockingbird. A mockingbird just copies the sound that other birds make and doesn’t have a sound of his own.”

While I know that the technical Hebrew concept of the mocker is a person who derides and mocks the things of God — my eight year old son’s insight really spoke to me. A mocker is someone who doesn’t have their own voice – who simply copies others because their voice is not sufficient. In that moment, I was so affected … I realized that I so often do not trust the voice/the song that God has given me – I feel as though I must copy others.

So, here I am – I don’t want to be a mockingbird – knowing that living this way is indeed the greatest mockery of God – to not trust His design and how He made me. I don’t need to be like anyone else – I have a song to sing, a voice to express … the voice that God has given me. Thanks, Trey – for being a vehicle of God’s truth. May you find your voice as well.

~ by Ted Wueste on January 18, 2008.

2 Responses to “The Mockingbird”

  1. Amen, Amen, Amen!
    Trust God, find the voice He gave you.
    Yes!

  2. Ted,

    I love this insight. Thanks for sharing it…it speaks to me in deep places, too! May we all find our voices and teach our children to find theirs!

Leave a Reply

 
