Knowing the Right Answers

I am so tired of everyone “knowing the right answers” and then not actually living the right answers. So, what I am saying is that I am tired of myself. I can’t speak for anyone else but I have a gracious hunch that others fall into this category as well. Ok, it’s more than a hunch (see Romans 7 for a very honest confession) but this is not about others. It’s about me striving to be “stripped down” and honest …

I am more than ever convinced that as I hold to the truth of God, I need to learn to say “I don’t know” or “I haven’t learned how that works” much more often. That is simply the most honest thing I can do … if I get angry and lust and find myself jealous and __________ … then, I don’t know how a lot of things work.

Besides, I live in relationship with a person (Jesus Christ – the God of this universe) – I do not live in a relationship with my ability to intellectually master truth or morally apply that truth. My learning ought to be directed to knowing Christ and allowing Him to show me who I am. “Seek first His kingdom … and all these things will be added to you.” (Matthew 6)

Jeremiah 17:9 tells me that “The heart is deceitful above all things and beyond cure. Who can understand it?” So, who am I to think that I know all the right answers … Jeremiah’s question implies (very forcefully) that I can’t. So, I pursue the one who graciously calls me to Himself — I do know that and I can know Him … and as I know (relate, listen, obey) Him, I am freed from having to know the right answers.

~ by Ted Wueste on July 30, 2008.

3 Responses to “Knowing the Right Answers”

  1. Fascinating that you seem to put “answers” and “obedience” into the same . . . function(?). I love it. It challenges my assumptions about the source, cause, and intended effects of “answers”!!

    D

  2. I guess the question is: do I really understand something if I am not living it? If I say I know what humility is – do I, if I am prideful? Not to discount the role of temptation and battling with the sin nature — in fact, I think that this takes all that into account. If I say “I know – I understand – I get it” – this pushes me to a place of reliance on self which is the very nature of sin/living independently of God. If I am willing to embrace my inadequacies in understanding – it pushes me to depend upon the Spirit and live out of my new nature. Thoughts?

  3. I am not really sure about finding the right answers just by merely sitting on it.. I think that the right answers and finding for others’ opinions can be of great help..

Leave a Reply

 
