Growing thru Romans

This fall, at Trinity Chapel, we’re study Romans 6-8 – and the following is from an email I sent to folks in our body.I want to share with you how I’ve been growing through this study – and it has been intense — first, I’ve been realizing just how much I live out of my sin capacity. I regularly fail to stop and just say “Father I need you …” I am seeing very clearly that I often allow the desires of the sin capacity to enter in and I entertain them. I thank God for the clarity He has been giving me. Second, I’ve been so aware of just how much I want to get “freedom” so I don’t have to struggle anymore – and the reality is that I don’t want to struggle anymore because I want to be independent and on my own. That desire to be independent is the essence of the sin capacity. So, I’m realizing that my motive is often to use God to get away from him. Ironic, huh? Yet, the very nature of sin … independence/dependence is the issue and can often be quite subtle. So, I’m beginning to pray that God would increase my understanding of my sin capacity so that I can clearly and deliberately give myself to Him moment by moment.

~ by Ted Wueste on September 26, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
