Crying at a Rap/Hip Hop Concert?

tmac-concert

I must admit that I am a pretty emotional guy. I do cry on a regular basis – a few weeks ago at a wedding that I was officiating and a few weeks before that when watching an episode of Extreme Home Makeover. I’m very ok with my emotions and have no problem with tears. However, last night I teared up pretty heavily as I set next to my son at concert and I was not expecting that to happen …

We went to a TobyMac concert for his ninth birthday (with two friends he’s known since birth) – he loves TobyMac (and I do too – it was incredible, right up there with MC Hammer that I saw in the early nineties). At one point in the show, TobyMac shared a story from when he was nine years old and read a verse on his dad’s business card that said “What does it profit a man to gain the world and lose his soul?” He shared about the impact it had in him as a young man — the parallel with my nine year old sitting next to me began to click, and then TobyMac began singing a song called “Lose My Soul” and my son jumped up and starting singing every word. I was overcome with emotion as I saw my son’s spiritual journey being played out before me. I realized that this was something he was choosing – something that he was internalizing and making his own. Then, TobyMac began to lead into the Christmas song “O Come All Ye Faithful” and as I saw my son singing “O come let us adore Him – Christ the Lord” — the tears began streaming more forcefully. Tears of pure joy …

Next, the lights went to black for a brief moment and then the sound exploded into another heart pumping rap song about some other aspect of following Christ … and I was left with a profound sense of gratefulness.

~ by Ted Wueste on December 15, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
