Magnificent

The new U2 is excellent. Like most new U2, it requires a few listens until you get it. The band is so amazing at recreating their sound and vibe and message with each record, and yet they keep a sound and message that is consistent. After a few listens, some favorites have emerged … however, the best? So far … Magnificent — the lyrics are really, really good.

Magnificent/Magnificent/I was born/ I was born to be with you/In this space and time/After that and ever after I haven’t had a clue/Only to break rhyme/This foolishness can leave a heart black and blue/Only love, only love can leave such a mark/But only love, only love can heal such a scar/I was born/I was born to sing for you/I don’t have a choice but to lift you up/And sing whatever song you wanted me to/I give you back my voice/From the womb to my first cry, it was a joyful noise …/Only love, only love can leave such a mark/But only love, only love can heal such a scar/Justified till we die, you and I will magnify/The Magnificent/Magnificent/ Only love, only love can leave such a mark/But only love, only love unites our hearts/ Justified till we die, you and I will magnify/The Magnificent/Magnificent/

Lyrics by Bono and The Edge

~ by Ted Wueste on March 17, 2009.

One Response to “Magnificent”

  1. AMEN. While I think the new U2 is moslty just “ok”, Magnificent is, well, magnificent. I can’t stop listening to it, screaming out the words in praise, etc.

Leave a Reply

 
