Slumdog Millionaire

I just finished watching Slumdog on a plane to Europe. I understand very clearly why it won the Oscar for best picture. An absolutely incredible story of love and redemption.

“It is written …” were the last lines in the movie. There is a story that has been written …

Every story that humanity writes is a reflection of the story of God’s loving pursuit of us. Or, each story is a longing for or response to the lack of that story.

I loved, in the film, the way Jamal kept pusuing Latika. He oriented his life around that pursuit. While Latika kept running and trying to forget her scars – Jamal kept pursuing … That only he might kiss her scar and bring redemption.

Thank you Father for pursuing me and kissing my scars …

~ by Ted Wueste on March 28, 2009.

One Response to “Slumdog Millionaire”

  1. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this movie!!! Such a story of Jesus’ pursuit of His bride!! It reminds me of a line from a poem – “He kissed me and now I am someone different.” I think it may be my new favorite movie.

Leave a Reply

 
