Perfectly Functional?

“I doubt that anyone is perfectly functional. I have always known a few people who, at least on the surface, appear to have taken charge of their lives. They seem to know what they can control and what they cannot. They do not indulge in self-doubt. They do not procrastinate. They appear to have perfect marriages and problem-free children. They are helpful people, always ready to give me advice about how to get my own life in order. They would be wonderful company if they didn’t make me feel like such a failure. But the real trouble is, I don’t believe them.

“Or, is it that I don’t believe myself? The perfectly functioning people are always people I do not know very well. When I get to know them, I see they are not so perfect. Then I look around for someone else who seems perfect. Why do I do this to myself? Maybe in some twisted, ironic way, feeling inferior to someone perfect gives me a hope for control. If they can do it, maybe I can too? I have tried to give this up, but occasionally I still look across the room at some financially solvent, upwardly mobile, blissful couple with perfect children and I wonder.”
Gerald May, “The Awakened Heart”

One of the best things I’ve read in a long time … none of us have it “all together” and the desire/illusion is an issue of control. If I had it “all together,” I no longer have need. There is only one who has no need. One. And, I need Him immensely, desperately, to the bottom of my soul.

~ by Ted Wueste on March 22, 2010.

One Response to “Perfectly Functional?”

  1. As always, my friend, I love the twist you put at the end – not only will I never be need-free, I can only become more needy on the One. I love your writing (and preaching, by the way).

Leave a Reply

 
