Foolish?

Often, I feel pretty foolish. At times, I feel intimidated by those who are “in the know” and “have it all together”. During those times, it can feel like I’m back at the lunch table on the first day of 5th grade getting schooled by the 6th graders who know so much more than me.

Over the last few months, as I felt foolish, I’ve asked myself, “Am I doing foolish things?” or “Am I just feeling foolish?” Recognizing that my feelings could just be perceptions rather than reality, I asked the Father to search my heart and give me some clarity. What He has brought to my mind is what was written in 1 Corinthians 1:18-20:

“For the word of the cross is folly to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God. For it is written, ‘I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and the discernment of the discerning I will thwart.’ Where is the one who is wise? Where is the scribe? Where is the debater of this age? Has not God made foolish the wisdom of the world?”

There is a wisdom on which this world operates. Many have defined it as surrounding the ideas that success is found in: what you do, what you have, and what others think of you. The wisdom of God is that we find joy and purpose and meaning and life in the cross of Christ. As I surrender and sacrifice and become smaller, I find the meaning of life.

Of course, as I choose to become smaller and less significant, it will feel foolish. As I choose to give and not fight back and lay down my life, it will contradict that values of this world.

To the degree that the wisdom of the world shapes my thinking, decisions of sacrifice will feel foolish. Others may make comments about the “non-wisdom” of giving money away or choosing smallness because it just doesn’t make sense.

And part of choosing to become small and insignificant and surrendered means that I accept that perception of foolishness because according to this world, it is foolish to choose a cross.

~ by Ted Wueste on January 11, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
