Selling All I Have


Jesus loved to tell stories that made people think, that challenged the core of what they perceived to be most real and most valuable. In one of his most simple stories, He challenged our understanding of value and God’s reign.

In Matthew 13:44, He said, “The kingdom of heaven is like treasure hidden in a field, which a man found and covered up. Then in his joy he goes and sells all that he has and buys that field.”

So simple and yet so profound. The kingdom of heaven is a reference to the rule and reign of God in our lives. It has a future reference to eternity but it has present implications for our day to day lives. Jesus was very clear that we could experience the kingdom of God now – that glorious reality of Him leading us moment my moment. Jesus is saying … “when the reality of God’s kingdom strikes you, you will sacrifice all other measurements of value, worth, or identity AND buy that which is of unmatchable worth.”

The opposite is also unmistakable in this story … as long as I cling to other things which I believe are of value, the rule of God in my life is not accessible.

Jesus used the physical reality of a treasure and a field to represent spiritual reality. He also used the physical reality of material possessions that we can sell to represent spiritual realities. The treasure is the kingdom of God, but what are the physical possessions representing? Simply, anything we use to rule our lives — anything that gives us worth, meaning, or value. It could be material possessions, a relationship, a job, other’s perceptions of me, and the list could go on.

What does it look like to sell those things and buy His kingdom? Moment my moment, I make myself aware of the lure of those others things and I say no so that I can say yes to the leading of God. It is moment by moment, but it also includes specific decisions to rid oneself of a constant sources of temptation/distraction … like quitting a job or selling a house or befriending an outcast or …

The question that lingers for me is: what will I sell today to experience His leading in my life?

~ by Ted Wueste on February 4, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
