The Real Question

Author and scholar Christopher J. H. Wright put it this way: “We ask, ‘Where does God fit into the story of my life?’ when the real question is, ‘Where does my little life fall into the great story of God’s mission?'”

This might sound like a cute little metaphor but it is actually incredibly profound and challenging. It is the real question and it strikes at the heart of all that we are: our longings, our desires, our design, our identity.

Sin and pain are tied to demanding our own story to be entered by God – asking Him to show up and give me what I need to move the plot of my story along. True desire and holiness and love spring from a place of being broken over the selfishness of demanding my own story and from a place of being empty from the fact that my story can never satisfy. As I do that, my heart is drawn to the real story of God and His glory – the story that I was made for.

God is so good … I feel that from the depths of my being because He graciously and patiently waits for us to turn and see His constant presence in our lives because of the cross. And when we turn to look and get our eyes off of ourselves and our stories, His speaks truth into our souls.

O how often I simply look at me, me, me when God graciously offers me something so much bigger and better … Himself.

~ by Ted Wueste on June 11, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
