Learning to Dance, pt. 1

On the last night of the 8 day class I just attended (Larry Crabb’s School of Spiritual Direction), the group of thirty-six participants was encouraged to stand and publicly share how God was at work in them. After having shared quite a bit which I’ll get to later, I simply said, “I want to learn to dance.”

Having some context is important. We had been talking all week about the ancient concept of perichoresis which is a Greek word meaning dance/movement (choresis) and around (peri). It was first used centuries ago by Saint Gregory and has begun to be used again in modern discussions to speak of the relationship between the three members of the Trinity (Father, Son, and Holy Spirit). The idea is that the three are involved in an eternal dance with one another in such a way that there is “the free pouring of one person’s essence into another” and “the enlivening effect that renders another who he would not be without” that free pouring. (Larry Crabb, class notes) The bottom line is the mystery of Trinity … that three could be so intertwined that they are One and yet distinctly three.

The Trinity created humanity to enter the dance and to express the dance through our relationships with one another. This understanding of the Trinity demonstrates that everything is about relationship … our relationship with God and with others. Sin, as a concept, is state of not dancing with the Trinity (i.e., not living in a dependent, loving relationship of trust and abandon to the dance moves of the Trinity). And, therefore, sin, as action, is always expressed relationally with others with Him we were created to dance.

So, as I summed up the week for myself … it was this, “I want to learn to dance.” I want to learn to dance with the Trinity (learning how to let go of self and my selfish strategies for trying to make life work and find relief from the pains of life so that I can know and enjoy Him). And, I want to learn how to dance into the lives of others (learning how to truly love and not use others for either gaining blessing or relief). I want to learn and I realize that it begins with repentance and continues through living out of my desire for Christ (that He is what I truly desire).

In part 2, I’ll share the things that God did in my soul to lead to that point …

~ by Ted Wueste on June 17, 2011.

2 Responses to “Learning to Dance, pt. 1”

  1. Love the way God is at work in your heart and mind. It’s been hitting me lately how apt the name Trinity Chapel is for our church body. (It only took me 7 years to figure it out.) Miss you lots!

  2. It’s too tempting to perceive my spiritual “dance” as some isolated, private experience… Always love hearing your thoughts, brotha.

Leave a Reply

 
