Mary’s Reflection


For years, I’ve been thinking about writing my thoughts about what happened. Even though it was many, many years ago, it still feels like it was yesterday. I can still remember the smell of the cool, damp air on the evening when the angel appeared. I can remember the sounds of the sheep in the field. But, it wasn’t the sounds or the smells but the sight of the angel that was so stunning. He simply appeared and said, “Greetings, the Lord is with you.” And I sat there in amazement, wondering what was going on – with nothing to say. And so the angel said, “Do not be afraid, Mary, for you have been chosen by God to have a son, and you will name him Jesus. He will be great and will be called Son of the Most High … of his kingdom, there will be no end.” And I said, “How can this be, since I am not married?” And the angel said, “The Holy Spirit will come upon you and the power of the Most High will overshadow you; therefore the child to be born will be called holy – the Son of God.”

At that, the angel disappeared, but that conversation left me changed forever. Imprinted on my soul was the truth that God had a plan for me. My life unfolded in a way that I would have never dreamed. Things happened that I would have never chosen. Things were glorious and amazing & things were hard. Things I would have never asked for but things I would never trade because being a part of God’s plan is better than any dream I could have ever dreamed … being used by God has been worth all the sacrifice.

I am thankful that I didn’t have to choose Him but He chose me.

~ by Ted Wueste on December 23, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
